Translate     |       |  

If you have questions about Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools, please contact us.

District Leadership Team

Scott Saywell, Superintendent of Schools/CEO

Mark Walsh, Secretary-Treasurer

Tim Davie, Deputy Superintendent (Learning Framework and Operations)

Laura Tait, Assistant Superintendent (Elementary Programs)

Don Balcombe, Assistant Superintendent (Secondary Programs)

Kerri Steel, Director of Instruction, Inclusive Education (Elementary)

Bob Brooks, (Acting) Director of Instruction, Inclusive Education (Secondary)

Ted Cadwallader – Director of Instruction (Indigenous Learning)

Jacquie Poulin – Director of Instruction (Learning & Innovation) 

Maureen Hambley, Associate Secretary-Treasurer

Dale Burgos, Executive Director of Communications, Privacy and Community Engagement

Pete Sabo, Executive Director of Planning & Operations

Zeyad Merchant, Director of Information Technology






  • Contacts for Employee Groups

  • Canadian Union of Public Employees
    Rob Zver, President of Local 606
    Phone: 250 729-0842;

    Nanaimo District Teachers’ Association
    Denise Wood, President
    Phone: 250 756-1237

    Nanaimo School Administrators’ Association
    Geoff Steel, President
    Phone: 250 754-6983

  • District Parent Advisory Council (DPAC)

  • Leanne Lee, President

  • Contact Human Resources

  • Please note that applications are only accepted via Make a Future website, please go to our Employment Opportunities page.

    If you have received an email confirmation from Make a Future, we have received your application.

    Due to the high volume of applications, we will not be able to respond to individual requests.


  • Information and Privacy Resources

  • The Office of the BC Information and Privacy Commissioner has resources to assist you in dealing with issues related to information and privacy.

    If you wish to make a Freedom of Information request, contact or call 250 754-5521.