Translate     |       |  

The Facilities Department oversees the servicing, construction, and renovation of district buildings and grounds. 

The Facilities Department is responsible for:

Operations – Cleaning of schools and other buildings

Maintenance – Keeping the district’s schools and other buildings and grounds in good repair

  • Parents or the general public who have maintenance concerns should contact the school directly. If required, the school will initiate a service request to the appropriate department.

Capital Planning – Overseeing construction of  new buildings and additions to buildings and overseeing construction projects to address seismic condition of schools

Capital Projects

Minor Alterations – Planning and carrying out renovations to schools

Energy Management – Initiatives to ensure district facilities are energy-efficient

Facility Rentals – After-hours rental of district facilities to community groups

Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools has launched a new facility booking program.  With the new program you will be able to set up and manage your account, do online bookings and make payments.  The new software, powered by PerfectMind, streamlines services and provides intuitive and user-friendly online facility bookings.  We appreciate your patience while we transition to the new and improved booking site.  Patrons can expect some downtime during this process.  If you have any questions or concerns, or issues with your online login, please contact us at rentals@sd68.bc.ca or call 250-741-5241 or 250-741-5244.

*Important notice for renters regarding emergency cancellations*
A reminder to all rental partners that the School District reserves the right to cancel individual rental incidences waiving the notice period, for health and safety risks.  In these instances the renter will not be charged due to emergency cancellation by the Board.  Power outages, inclement weather, emergent maintenance, capital loss events, and school closures are some of the reasons the district has had to cancel permits in the past. The district may also cancel rentals when given direction from the health authority. Thank you for your understanding.

Transportation – Providing school bus services

Testing Water Quality in School Facilities

 

  • Facilities Department Contacts

  • Director of Planning and Operations Pete Sabo psabo@sd68.bc.ca 250 741-5265

    Assistant Director, Planning and Operations Brian Hackwood bhackwood@sd68.bc.ca 250 741-5268

    Operations Manager Jason Kozubal jason.kozubal@sd68.bc.ca 250 741-5213

    Maintenance Manager Greg Paterson gpaterson@sd68.bc.ca 250 741-5268

    Transportation Supervisor Dave Prevost dprevost@sd68.bc.ca 250 741-5246

    Energy Manager Rob Lumsden rlumsden@sd68.bc.ca 250 244-2777

    Facilities Rentals 250 741-5241