The Leaders for Learning Executive Group (formerly known as the Aboriginal Education Leadership Council) is made up of representatives from the three land-based First Nations: Snuneymuxw, Stz’uminus, and Snaw-Naw-As; and the Tillicum Lelum Aboriginal Friendship Centre and Mid-Island Métis Nation, along with the Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools Indigenous Education Department.

The Group is unique, in that it is neither governed nor mandated by the NLPS Board of Education, instead it is a special partnership between local Indigenous communities and NLPS themselves through great consultation deriving from the NLPS Indigenous Education Enhancement Agreement.

The Group meet monthly to receive and discuss updates on key activities in the district and to share information about the communities and organizations they represent.