Translate     |       |  
  • April 03, 2020 9:38 am: All NLPS in-class instruction is suspended until further notice. Use of playground structures and equipment is prohibited.
  • Our Goal of Reconciliation

    To support the Board of Education’s goal of Reconciliation, a Reconciliation Advisory Committee (Syeyutsus Family) was formed with the purpose to develop a Reconciliation Policy and Framework for reconciliation across the district, using a process that is culturally relevant, sensitive and significant.

    The Syeyutsus Family includes representation from:

    Ron Poitra, Mid-Island Metis Nation
    Grace Nielsen, Tillicum Lelum Friendship Centre
    Joan Brown, Snuneymuxw First Nation
    Pearl Harris, Stz’uminus First Nation
    Lawrence Mitchell, Snaw-Naw-As First Nation
    Stephanie Higginson & Bill Robinson, Trustees
    Denise Wood, President, NDTA
    Jamie Smith, Executive, CUPE
    Leana Pellegrin, Executive, DPAC
    Ted Cadwallader, Director of Instruction, Indigenous Learning
    Scott Saywell, Superintendent
    Tim Davie, Deputy Superintendent
    Stephanie Johnson, Syeyutsus Saays’um (one that does the work to support walking together)

    The Reconciliation Policy | Syeyutsus “Walking Together”

    Read it or Watch it below

     The Reconciliation Committee Defines the Syeyutsus Policy

    The Syeyutsus Family shares their thoughts:

    Harvey Seymour shares Syeyutsus from his lens as Stz’uminus Knowledge Keeper

    Jamie Smith shares Syeyutsus from her lens representing CUPE

    Denise Wood shares Syeyutsus from her lens representing the NDTA

    Leana Pellegrin shares Syeyutsus from her lens representing the DPAC